Huawei E3131 Mobile Broadband Problems?

Huawei E3131 Specifications:

UMTS / HSPA + 900 MHz/2100MHz
GSM / GPRS / EDGE 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
Data transfer rate:
Download: 21.6 Mbps
Upload: 5.76 Mbps
MicroSD memory card connector
External antenna connector

How to setting up HUAWEI E3131 mobile broadband?

Hi I’ve recently installed OpenSUSE 12.1 with gnome, and am now trying to set up mobile broadband with a HUAWEI E3131 usb device.

Unfortunately it didn’t just work when I plugged it in(!), so I’ve tried setting it up under Mobile Broadband in Network Connections following some other post I found. I just selected my country and mobile provider (T-mobile), ‘connect automatically’ and some default user/passwd (no idea if these are right). However after this nothing happens. I’m not sure it realises that the stick is plugged in, as it just looks like a normal USB under file manager. This E3131 usb stick does have a blue light on which should mean it’s connected to 3G.

I’m not really sure what I’m doing here, have had a look around the web but just getting more confused😦

Huawei E353 VS Huawei E3131

Which of these modems is better to Aero2. Someone told me that both have the same electronics and differ only in the case.
I also heard that the E3131 you need to change something in the settings to get the call in Aero2.
Is such interference will not void your warranty because I purchased it in PLAY in the “Online card “. Nor do I know if they have unlocked. In the salons play differently in that respect.
Is it worth investing in usb modem nokia 21m 02, which has better sensitivity but is more expensive and has no external antenna?
Or maybe suggest some other better modem, which for two or three years it will be suitable eg for LTE?

Leave a Reply

